How Often Will I be Paid Temporary Total Disability and What Happens if my Check is Late?
The workers’ compensation section of the Official Code of Georgia sets out very specific rules regarding the payment of TTD (temporary total disability) checks to injured workers in claims that are “picked up” by insurance companies.
These rules attempt to balance your need for cash flow with the realities of insurance company check issuing procedures. With some exceptions, here are the rules:
- your first TTD check is due no later than 21 days after the first day you missed work.
- if you are out of work for less than 21 consecutive days, then you will not be paid for the first week you missed. Once you are out of work for 21 days, you will get that first week of TTD paid to you
- once the checks begin, they should be mailed once a week. If the insurance company is based in Georgia, the postmark on the mailed check must be no later than day 7. In other words if your first check was mailed on March 5, then the second check must be postmarked by March 12, and the third check must be postmarked by March 19, and so forth
- if the insurance company is not based in Georgia, the postmark on the mailed check must be at least 3 days before the end of the 7 day period. In other words, if your first check was mailed on March 5, then the second check must be mailed by March 9, the third check by March 16, and so forth.
- the lateness of the payment will be determined by the postmark, not by when you receive it.
- if your TTD check is mailed late, then the insurance company will owe you a penalty amounting to 15% of your check.